My parents have always been quick to trade in a car. I remember one time we got a new car because my dad had taken the car to the dealership for an oil change, and while he was waiting found a new one. It was a cherry red Bonneville. I remember the first day he dropped me off to junior high in it. I got out of the car and this girl "R" was standing there. "R" had big boobs. Looking back, they weren't THAT big. She just had boobs when the other girls really didn't yet. Anyways, her boobs kind of made her cool. So she says, "Wow, that is a nice car. Y'all must be rich." I saw this as a golden opportunity. Not sure exactly what I said but pretty sure it went something like this, "Why yes, we are. Very." She had a lot of questions about the car. I answered to the best of my knowledge. Then she says, "Does it have airbags?" It did have airbags so I tell her yes. "Oh, airbags scare me. I've heard that when they come out they can mess your face up," she replies. DARN. I had blown it. This was my chance to get in with the cool crowd and I had totally ruined it by telling her the truth. Maybe my parents next car wouldn't have airbags. Who would have thought a middle school girl would have such a strong opinion about airbags anyways?
I remember another encounter with "R." We had gym together one year. We had to weigh for some reason. Her and her friend were "totally like OMG" about me weighing 75 lbs. They told me they "wished they could weigh 75 pounds." Let me just set the record straight. They were both around 100 pounds. I would have totally killed to weigh 100 pounds. They both had bras. Real bras. Mine was more of a technicality than a necessity. This was the first time I realized girls are strange and always wish they were something else.